

Devolution Committee

Minutes of a meeting of the **Devolution Committee** held in the **Ditchling Room**, **Southover House**, **Southover Road**, **Lewes** on **Tuesday 2 February 2016** at 10.00am.

Present:

Councillors T Nicholson (Chair), G Amy, B Giles and J Harrison-Hicks

Also Present:

M Frost, Committee Officer B Lewis, Head of Property and Facilities

Minutes Action

1. Election of Chair

Resolved:

1.1 That Councillor Nicholson be elected as Chair of the Devolution Committee for the remainder of the municipal year 2015/16.

2. Minutes

The Minutes of the meeting held on 26 October 2015 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chair.

3. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence had been received from Councillors D Cooper and J Carter.

4. Declaration of Interests

It was noted that those members of the Committee who were present were also members of Town Councils within the District.

5. Devolution of Open Spaces to Town and Parish Councils

The Committee considered Report No 20/16 which provided an update on the Project Plan for devolving a number of open space assets to Town and Parish Councils.

The Head of Property and Facilities informed the Committee of the following amendments to the Report:

- With regard to paragraph 2.8 on page 4, the Local Government Act referred to should read as 1972 and not the year 2000;
- With regard to paragraph 2.5 on page 4, the transfer should refer to Malthouse and not Maltings;
- With regard to section 3 on page 5 concerning the financial appraisal, the table should show the revenue/capital impact of each transfer of land.

The Head of Property and Facilities advised the Committee that in order to allow the transfer of land to the two Town/Parish Councils, Newhaven and Hamsey, there had been a considerable amount of background work involving Legal, Property, Finance and Parks Services which had to be finalised before the drafting of agreements between the parties.

The Committee noted that negotiations with Newhaven Town Council were progressing and it was proposed that the following sites would be transferred to Newhaven Town Council by April 2016:-

- Eastside Rec and allotments
- Riverside Park
- Valley Road Play area
- Avis Road Rec
- Drove Park
- Denton Rec/ Cricket Club

The Head of Property and Facilities also advised the Committee that the play area known as the Malthouse, Cooksbridge would be transferred to Hamsey Parish Council by April 2016.

The Head of Property and Facilities confirmed that the proposal was for the Rangers at these sites to remain employed by Lewes District Council and continue their work there. The Head of Property and Facilities would report back on the future role of the Rangers at the next meeting of the Devolution Committee.

The Head of Property and Facilities updated the Committee on the transfers of land to Lewes Town Council. The Committee noted that negotiations continued about the insertion of an overage clause into the transfer deed. An agreement on the overage clause had not been reached and the transfer of Landport Bottom had not taken place. The Committee agreed that it was important for Lewes District Council to have an overage clause in place as part of the transfer. The Committee noted that negotiations continued and an update would be given at the next meeting of the Devolution Committee.

The Head of Property and Facilities clarified that Seaford Town Council had asked for any transfers of land to them to be delayed by a year whilst it dealt with other property matters within its boundaries. The Head of Property and Facilities advised the Committee that she would bring a report to the next Committee meeting detailing all the potential sites of transfer.

Resolved:

- 5.1 That the Project Plan, timescales and next steps, as set out in Report No 20/16, be agreed; and
- 5.2 That the Devolution Committee recommends to Cabinet to approve the transfer of land to Newhaven Town Council and Hamsey Parish Council as set out in Report No 20/16.

6. Date of Next Meeting

Resolved:

That the next meeting of the Devolution Committee be held in June 2016, exact date to be confirmed by the Committee Officer.

T Nicholson Chair